Balance 013 mixed by SOS
(Desyn Masiello, Omid 16B and Demi)
WMC 2008 Album Launch Parties
EQ Recordings / US Release Date: April 29th

Featuring a spot-on selection of sounds from yesterday, today and tomorrow’s electronic maestros, including an eclectic mixture of the likes of Aeroplane, Aphex Twin, Bryan Ferry, The Cure, Loco Dice, Speedy J, Omid 16B and more…

After 12 albums of cutting-edge dance music from all corners of the globe, EQ’s visionary Balance series has evolved into a never ending search to find the perfect equilibrium: the happy marriage of integrity, innovation and entertainment. Balance 013 continues this great tradition but gives it to you supersized, with three DJs blazing a trail of 56 tracks across three jam-packed CDs.

At the helm of this voyage is London-based DJ collective SOS (aka SexOnSubstance), featuring Demi, Desyn Masiello and Omid 16B. As friends, producers, DJs, label owners – and model clubland citizens – Demi, Desyn and Omid are three of the most passionate talents working in electronic music today. Taking inspiration from their SexOnWax and Deeper Substance imprints to form SOS in 2004, they’ve built a first-rate reputation for quality music, inventive mixing and an infectious party spirit, whether it’s on a boat along the Thames, deep inside Bedrock or Ministry of Sound, or glowing in the sun in Ibiza or Miami. Like Danny Krivit, François K and Joe Claussell’s legendary Body & Soul connection before them, the chemistry between the members of SOS makes for a proper three-headed DJ monster.

Balance 013 marks the first time the trio has committed their energetic and eclectic sound to CD, and the result is nothing short of mind-blowing. Having locked themselves away for weeks, submerged in their home studios, SOS painstakingly programmed and pieced together a three-disc opus using many of their signature re-edits, top-drawer treasures from underground troves, and a few kinky surprises out of left field.

The journey begins with crashing waves and a sublime guitar solo. Omid’s track ‘Seagull’, made using a simple four-track when he was in an early-90s band called The Reunion, is heard here for the very first time. We then glide into a realm of guitar loops and spaced out disco. And from there we catch a chugging, hypnotic groove that takes us right into the heart of the mix. Here the SOS sound snakes cleverly between cosmic dub, ambient breakbeats, Arabian horns and all things house. It’s a playground perfect for the more experimental shades of SOS’s palette.

The next disc continues where the first left off with The Cure’s ‘Lullaby’. However, this time it’s a special up-tempo edit that blends the blissful nostalgia of the original with a new, dreamy soundscape that lies beyond. (Actually getting clearance to use ‘Lullaby’ in this context involved another massive effort by SOS, which ultimately led to Robert Smith himself helping the guys out!) Continuing to build the mix, SOS passes through the deepest analogue territories before hitting the acid funk running. In true SOS style, things later take a turn for the surreal when the rude boys splice it up to ask, in the voice of Queen’s frontman Freddie Mercury, ‘is this the real life’? After an infusion of twisted, percussive techno, the energy flow reaches a climax before dropping back two decades to the timeless party sounds of Inner City’s ‘Big Fun’.

The final mix is every bit as epic and compelling. It’s also more club-orientated, with tracks cherry-picked from a brotherhood of underground talents. Sure enough at times it gets pretty intense, with prime dancefloor cuts from the likes of Aphex Twin, but it’s always in keeping with the ebb and flow of the project. Effortlessly organic and seamlessly dynamic, the sequence progresses, releasing pressure and leading to the atmospheric finale entitled ‘Full of E_mty’ from Omid’s Like 3 Ears And 1 Eye album.

Fair dinkum, SOS. Individually they are dynamite; collectively they are the bomb. Taking the art of DJing, moving it forward and making it truly progressive. Three DJs, three CDs and an explosive sequence of trip-tech sounds from right around the world, mixed the way SOS plays live – welcome to Balance 013!

Thursday, March 27
SOS (Desyn Masiello, Omid 16B, Demi)
Balance 13 Launch Party
The Pawn Shop 10PM-5AM

Friday, March 29
SOS (Desyn Masiello, Omid 16B, Demi)
Twilight on the Tikki Boat Party 4PM-9PM

AUS + Asia: March 31st, 2008 / AUS April 4-12 / Asia April 18 - May 3
UK: April 14th, 2008 / May 2008
Europe: April 28th, 2008 / May 2008
USA: April 29th, 2008 / June 2008

Balance 013 mixed by SOS Collective: Tracklisting
Disc 1:
1. Omid 16B - Seagull
2. AN-2 - Wide Open
3. Modern Heads feat Pig & Dan - Gliding (Hypnotherapy)
4. Omid 16b - The Final Choice
5. Christian Smith & John Selway - Slow River
6. LFO - Nurture (Surgeon Remix)
7. Speedy J - De-Orbit
8. Jody Wisternoff - Starstrings (Instrumental)
9. Aeroplane - Caramellas
10. Chymera - Umbrella (Beatless Mix)
11. Imagination - Just An Illusion (Lindstrøm Dub) (SOS Edit)
12. DJ Frtizo - Pimms By The Pool (SOS Remix)
13. Bryan Ferry - Don't Stop The Dance (12" Remix) (SOS Edit)
14. Jan Driver - Kardamoon
15. MC Sultan - Der Bauch
16. Brandy - The Ritual (Chateau Flight Remix)
17. Cocteau Twins – Cherry Coloured Funk (Seefeel Remix)
18. The Cure - Lullabye

Disc 2:
1. The Cure - Lullabye (SOS Edit)
2. Dusty Kid - Luna
3. Josel - Digiboy (DJ Tarkan & V-Sag Remix)
4. Nima Gorji - Whatever
5. Spirit Catcher - Brain Candy
6. Kollektiv Turmstrasse - Wagnis
7. Marsmobil - Mangia Amore (Makossa & Megablast Remake) (Lucas Abadi Edit)
8. The Blacklight Society - 2028
9. Whizz Kidzz - Fly High (SOS Edit)
10. Aeroplane / Corporation of One - Aeroplane (Dub) / The Real Life (SOS Edit)
11. Sugar Caine Pres. Bionik Phunk - Once In A Lifetime (Dub) (SOS Edit)
12. Marc Romboy vs Stephan Bodzin - Atlas
13. Slytek - Spin Out (Neon Skin Mix)
14. Ink & Needle - Six
15. Middleman - Dum Dum
16. Inner City - Big Fun (Edit)
17. Joeski - Caribe Elektrico (Outter Limits Mix)
18. Henrik B - Logos

Disc 3:
1. Speedy J - Fill 17
2. Joash - Salome
3. Aeroplane - Pacific Air Race (Dub)
4. Paul Keeley - A Sort Of Homecoming (SOS Edit)
5. DJ Pippi & David Penn - Do U Feel It (The Piano Mix) (SOS Edit)
6. AFX - VBS.Redlof.B
7. Dimitri - Here She Comes (Elektrokid Remix)
8. Kid Massive - Release (Raoul Dub)
9. Levan - Miau
10. Ozze - Bend The Rules
11. Loco Dice - City Lights (Martin Buttrich Remix)
12. Michael Ho - Kiss The Wasp
13. Ytre Rymden Dansskola - Kjappfot
14. Kingpin Cartel - Moogie Nights (SOS Edit)
15. Michael Cassette – Shadow’s Movement (SOS Edit)
16. Bastian - Game Over
17. Alessi Brothers - Savin' The Day (SOS Edit)
18. Stereo Brains - Luna (Jhonny and Peps Remix)
19. The Detroit Experiment - Think Twice
20. Omid 16B – Full Of E_mty

For more info about SOS and upcoming gigs please visit